The Graduate College

Fall 2010

New & Noteworthy
Reflections from the Dean
Need to Know
Program Notes: Ed Tech and Early Childhood
GSO Update
GA Corner
Deadlines & Calendar
Things I Wish Someone Had Told Me at the Start
Lady of the Rings
On Teaching: Active Learning Strategies
Nailing the Phone Interview
Graduate School for the Career Professional
Graduate College Home
Give to the Graduate College
Story Ideas?
Newsletter Archives
Newsletter Home
Fall 2010 Honors & Accomplishments

Special Recognition


Crystle Alavez (MS Clinical Speech Pathology) received the James Case Award for Outstanding Student Clinician at the Arizona Speech-Language-Hearing Association’s annual convention in Phoenix on April 23-24, 2010.

Nichole Basl (M Ed Educational Leadership) was named a Rodel Aspiring Principal Scholar, 2009-11, by the Rodel Foundation of Arizona. She received a $1,000 scholarship and the opportunity to shadow six exemplary principals in the state of Arizona.

Helen Bothwell (PhD Biology) received a National Park Service George Melendez Wright Climate Change Fellowship of $18,192. The fellowship provides funding for a research project on predictive species distribution modeling of narrowleaf cottonwood under several future climate change scenarios through 2099. 

Danette Derickson (M Ed Educational Leadership-Principal K-12) was selected as the K-3 Yavapai County Teacher of the Year for 2009-10.

Thomas Seth Davis (PhD Forest Science) received the President's Prize at the annual Entomological Society of America meeting, December 2009, for giving the best presentation in behavioral ecology: "Response of the Western Pine Beetle (Dendroctonus brevicomis) to Variation in Host Phytochemistry."

Daniel Karalus (PhD History) received a $400 Westerners-Mangum Prize, Flagstaff Corral of Westerners, International.

Physical therapist and member of the American Physical Therapy Association Lindsey Kirkaldie (DPT 2007) was awarded the association’s Minority Scholarship Award for Academic Excellence during the organization’s annual conference and exposition, held in Boston June 16-19. The award acknowledges and rewards academic excellence, demonstrated concerns for minority issues, and the potential for superior professional achievements.

Nicholas Kraft (MA English), received a Frederick J. and Alice W. Dockstader Scholar Award of $2,500 in recognition of outstanding achievement in English studies, 2010. He also received a $1,250 award from the Koniag Education Foundation.

Andrew Krohn (PhD Biology), Sheryl Martinez (MS Chemistry and M Adm HLTP), Peter Polsgrove (PhD Biology), Chandler Roe (PhD Biology), Katie Stumpf (PhD Biology), Aaron Tabor (MS Biology), and Angela Woods (MS Biology) were selected as National Science Foundation GK-12 Fellows for 2009-10.  Krohn, Polsgrove, Roe, Stumpf, and Tabor are continuing fellows for 2010-11, joined by new fellows Adam Wymore (PhD Biology), Valerie Kurth (PhD Forest Science), and Andrew Paquette (MS Biology).

Tatiana M. Nekrasova-Becker (PhD Applied Linguistics) received a Natural Science and Mathematics Department Outstanding Paper Award at Tomsk Polytechnic University, Russia, for her conference presentation delivered at the VII International Prospects of Fundamental Science Development conference, April 2010.

Larissa Yocom (PhD Forest Science) received the 2010 Research and Creative Activity (RCA) Award from the NAU Vice President's Office for Research as the Most Promising Graduate Student Researcher.