moratorium statement media

Oil Sands Development Moratorium

LCI Director, Tom Sisk, and his Canadian colleagues are receiving a lot of press for their recent science consensus statement and call for an oil sands development moratorium

Much of the attention has been in Canadian media outlets, but here’s a High Country News article on the topic.

And here are links to two stories in Indian Country Today:

Leave It in the Ground: Scientists’ 10 Reasons for a Tar Sands Moratorium and

Leave Tar Sands Oil in Ground: 110 Scientists Invoke First Nation Treaty Rights

And here’s a link round-up for other stories about the announcement of the consensus statement.

AAAScience – Scientists call on Canada to bar new oil sands development: http://news.sciencemag.org/climate/2015/06/scientists-call-canada-bar-new-oil-sands-development

CBC Exchange with Amanda Lang: http://www.cbc.ca/player/Shows/Shows/The+Exchange+with+Amanda+Lang/ID/2669331851/

CBC Metro Morning – Moratorium on New Oil Sands: http://www.cbc.ca/player/Radio/Local+Shows/Ontario/Metro+Morning/ID/2669215938/

Climate Progress – Scientists Say Tar Sands Development And Limiting Climate Change Are ‘Incompatible’: http://thinkprogress.org/climate/2015/06/11/3668501/scientists-tar-sands-moratorium/

Ecolog – Top scientists call for oil sands moratorium: http://www.ecolog.com/issues/ISArticle.asp?aid=1003672844&PC=EN&issue=06122015

Edmonton Journal – Researchers’ open letter calls for moratorium on new oilsands projects: http://www.edmontonjournal.com/Researchers+open+letter+calls+moratorium+oilsands+projects/11125320/story.html

Globe and Mail – Alberta’s oil sands take a hit as scientists, academics call for halt to development: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/report-on-business/industry-news/energy-and-resources/scientists-academics-call-for-halt-to-further-oil-sands-development/article24895667/

theguardian – North American scientists call for end to tar sands mining: http://www.theguardian.com/environment/2015/jun/10/tar-sands-mining-ban-scientists

Inside Climate News – Scientists Band Together, Urge Canada to Stop Tar Sands Expansion: http://insideclimatenews.org/news/10062015/scientists-band-together-urge-canada-stop-tar-sands-expansion

Leonardo DiCaprio: https://m.facebook.com/LeonardoDiCaprio/posts/10152869975627116

National Geographic – Why More Scientists are Speaking Out on Contentious Issues: http://news.nationalgeographic.com/2015/06/15610-scientists-advocacy-environment-oilsands-chemicals-rainforest/

National Observer – Over 100 scientists call for oil sands moratorium: http://www.nationalobserver.com/2015/06/10/news/over-100-scientists-call-oil-sands-moratorium

Newstalk770 – Call for moratorium on new oilsands projects: http://www.newstalk770.com/2015/06/10/67138/

Oilprice.com – Canadian Economy More Damaged By Oil Prices Than Expected: http://oilprice.com/Energy/Oil-Prices/Canadian-Economy-More-Damaged-By-Oil-Prices-Than-Expected.html

Take Part – More Than 100 Scientists Call for a Halt to Tar Sands Oil Expansion: http://www.takepart.com/article/2015/06/10/over-100-scientists-call-moratorium-tar-sands-expansion

Think Progress – Scientists Say Tar Sands Development And Limiting Climate Change Are ‘Incompatible’: http://thinkprogress.org/climate/2015/06/11/3668501/scientists-tar-sands-moratorium/

Toronto Star – Canadians should heed scientists and make climate change an election issue: Editorial: http://www.thestar.com/opinion/editorials/2015/06/11/canadians-should-heed-scientists-and-make-climate-change-an-election-issue-editorial.html

The Tyee – Scientists Call Oilsands Moratorium: http://thetyee.ca/News/2015/06/10/Scientists-Call-Oilsands-Moratorium/

United Press Intl – No more oil sands, green group says: http://www.upi.com/Business_News/Energy-Resources/2015/06/11/No-more-oil-sands-green-group-says/5351434019164/

Vice – ‘Canada Needs to Get with the Program’: More Than 100 Scientists Call for Oil Sands Moratorium: https://news.vice.com/article/canada-needs-to-get-with-the-program-more-than-100-scientists-call-for-oil-sands-moratorium

Bob Weber, Canadian Press – 100 Canadian and U.S. scientists call for oilsands moratorium

680 News: http://www.680news.com/2015/06/10/100-canadian-u-s-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

Brampton Guardian: http://www.bramptonguardian.com/news-story/5671663-100-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

Calgary Herald: http://calgaryherald.com/business/energy/group-of-100-canadian-u-s-scientists-call-for-halt-to-new-oilsands-projects

Chilliwack Times: http://www.chilliwacktimes.com/national/306832631.html

Chronicle Journal: http://www.chroniclejournal.com/news/national/canadian-u-s-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/article_d405e2bb-61df-5fcd-8c7c-8c3b96b17d10.html

City News: http://www.citynews.ca/2015/06/10/100-canadian-u-s-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

CTV News: http://www.ctvnews.ca/sci-tech/100-canadian-u-s-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium-1.2415695

Global News: http://globalnews.ca/news/2047208/100-canadian-and-u-s-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

Metronews: http://metronews.ca/news/canada/1392900/group-of-100-scientists-call-for-moratorium-on-new-oilsands/

Mississauga News: http://www.mississauga.com/news-story/5671663-100-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

News 1130: http://www.news1130.com/2015/06/10/100-canadian-u-s-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

Northbay Nipissing News: http://www.northbaynipissing.com/news-story/5671663-100-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

Ottawa Community News: http://www.ottawacommunitynews.com/news-story/5671663-100-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

Our London: http://www.londoncommunitynews.com/news-story/5671663-100-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

Our Windsor: http://www.ourwindsor.ca/news-story/5671663-100-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium/

Surrey Leader: http://www.surreyleader.com/national/306832631.html

Times Colonist: http://www.timescolonist.com/100-canadian-u-s-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium-1.1964028

Winnipeg Free Press: http://www.winnipegfreepress.com/arts-and-life/life/greenpage/100-canadian-us-scientists-call-for-oilsands-moratorium-306800041.html

Yahoo News: https://ca.news.yahoo.com/leading-scientists-compile-top-10-list-reasons-avoid-202800477.html

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *